top of page

The Commonwealth Scholarship: Application, Process, and Benefits

Updated: May 2

Commonwealth Scholarships are awarded to talented individuals who have the potential to positively influence the global stage. Administered by the Commonwealth Scholarship Commission (CSC) in the UK, these scholarships reflect the UK's ongoing commitment to the Commonwealth.

Every year, around 700 students from Commonwealth countries are given the opportunity to pursue postgraduate degrees at UK universities, showcasing the

Apply for commonwealth scholarship
Commonwealth Scholarship

UK's continuous dedication to nurturing international talent.

If you come from a Commonwealth country and believe you can make a difference globally but lack the financial resources to fund your studies in the UK, then you could be an excellent candidate for a Commonwealth Scholarship.



Award Award Purpose       Duration Who can apply?

Fees (International), Course Length Prospective Applicant

Maintenance, Other

Level of Study Mode of Study Available To

Masters, PhD Full-Time 45 nationalities


Who can Apply for Commonwealth Scholarship?

A citizen or permanent resident of a Commonwealth country can apply for the Commonwealth Scholarship.

Academic requirement: You need to have an undergraduate honours degree of at least upper second class (2:1) (read our blog).

For PhD: you need to have a upper second class (2:1) in both undergrad and Master's.

The eligibility criteria for each type of scholarship and fellowship differ. For detailed information, please visit the CSC website.

Full List of Eligible Nationalities 

Click to Expand

  • Antigua and Barbuda

  • Bangladesh

  • Barbados

  • Belize

  • Botswana

  • British Overseas Territories

  • Cameroon

  • Dominica

  • Fiji

  • Ghana

  • Grenada

  • Guyana

  • India

  • Jamaica

  • Kenya

  • Kiribati

  • Lesotho

  • Malawi

  • Malaysia

  • Maldives

  • Mauritius

  • Mozambique

  • Namibia

  • Nauru

  • Nigeria

  • Pakistan

  • Papua New Guinea

  • Rwanda

  • Saint Kitts and Nevis

  • Saint Lucia

  • Samoa

  • Seychelles

  • Sierra Leone

  • Solomon Islands

  • South Africa

  • Sri Lanka

  • St Vincent and the Grenadines

  • Swaziland

  • Tanzania, United Republic of

  • Tonga

  • Trinidad and Tobago

  • Tuvalu

  • Uganda

  • Vanuatu

  • Zambia


How to Apply for Commonwealth Scholarship?

The application process for each scholarship varies; it may involve applying through a National Nominating Agency, a university, or a Non-Governmental Organisation.

How to Apply for Commonwealth Scholarship?
Commonwealth Scholarship

For specific application instructions for each scholarship, please refer to the CSC apply page.

What do I need to apply for Commonwealth Scholarship?

To start your online application, you will need to have a scanned copy of your passport, your academic transcript, your current university degree certificate, two reference letters, and, if available, your admission letter.

When is the application deadline?

Application deadlines typically occur in December each year. To find the specific dates for the upcoming academic year, please visit the page of the scholarship you are interested in on the Commonwealth Scholarship Commission website.

Commonwealth Scholarship Alumni Network

The Commonwealth Scholarship Alumni Network is a platform for former recipients of Commonwealth Scholarships to connect, share experiences, and collaborate on professional and developmental projects. This network provides a valuable opportunity for alumni to engage with each other and continue their contribution to their home countries and the wider Commonwealth community.

Visit the Alumni pages on the Commonwealth site to learn more about these activities.

398 views0 comments


bottom of page